Skip to Content


Generate PDF

Janet C. Neschis is a graduate of NYU Law School, where she was a recipient of the Moot Court Advocacy Award and was an editor on the Moot Court Board.  She joined McLaughlin & Stern as a partner in 2000 and is now counsel to the firm.

Ms. Neschis has had a broad range of experience in civil litigation matters and has specialized in employment discrimination matters for nearly 40 years.  She has represented both individual plaintiffs and corporate defendants on issues of gender, age, race and ethnicity. She has represented individuals at the management or professional level against defendants such as Goldman Sachs, the former Coudert Brothers, The Wall Street Journal, Metropolitan Life Insurance Company, New York Life Insurance Company, and the New York City Police Department and the MTA.  Ms. Neschis is a strong believer in alternative dispute resolution and has successfully represented both plaintiffs and defendants in mediation.  She also represents executives in the negotiation of employment agreements.

Ms. Neschis has successfully argued numerous appeals, including an appeal to the Second Circuit which defined when the statute of limitations begins to run in a case of constructive discharge.  The Second Circuits holding in that matters was recently adopted by the United States Supreme Court.

In addition to her litigation practice, Ms. Neschis has represented clients with major art collections and has dealt extensively with both auction houses and museums.  Ms. Neschis is also president and a director of the Jacques and Natasha Gelman Foundation which provides support for emerging visual artists and in connection with leading art schools has supported and established outreach programs for underserved high school students in New York, Chicago, Baltimore and Philadelphia.

Ms. Neschis is rated AV preeminent by Martindale Hubbell and has been selected by Super Lawyers for every year since 2014.

Ms. Neschis is also a Fellow of the Litigation Counsel of America.



McLaughlin & Stern congratulates Peter C. Alkalay, David Blasband, Alvin Deutsch, Richard L. Farren, Richard E. Halperin, Geoffry R. Handler, T. Randolph Harris, Huyler C. Held, Steven J. Hyman, James M. Kosakow, Paul C. Lambert, Janet…

Share This


  • New York University School of Law (J.D., 1979, Recipient, Moot Court Advocacy Award)
  • Columbia University (A.B., 1969)
  • Bennington College


  • New York, NY

Bar Admissions

  • New York, 1980 
  • United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, 1995
  • United States District Court for the Southern and Eastern Districts of New York, 1980


  • Association of the Bar of the City of New York
  • New York State Bar Association (Member, Labor and Employment Section)
  • American Bar Association (Member, Labor, and Employment Section)